• Who We Are

    The Colbert County School System is located in the picturesque northwest corner of Alabama, most affectionately known as "The Shoals". Approximately 2,600 students are enrolled in one of our 5 Elementary Schools serving grades PreK-6 and 3 High Schools serving grades 7-12. Cherokee Elementary, Cherokee High Schools, New Bethel Elementary, Colbert Heights Elementary, Colbert Heights High School, Colbert County High School, Leighton Elementary, and Hatton Elementary schools serve every community throughout the 600 square miles of Colbert County. Ranking as one of the top 5 employers in Colbert County, the district employs approximately 400 teachers, administrators, and staff across our 8 campuses, central office, bus shop, maintenance, and technology facilities.

    Five schools currently operate under Title I funds with school-wide programs. Career & Technical Education in Colbert County features the latest innovative programs, countless examples of student representation at state and national competitions, and incredible instructors who are fully engaged in the increasingly vital mission of preparing today's students to become tomorrow's workforce. 

    In 2021, Colbert County Schools became the first school district in the nation to attain the district-wide national NISE STEM Accreditation.


    Our Community

    Colbert County is a beautiful area with a deep history dating back to the Cherokee and Chickasaw Indians and early French traders around 1715 who were attracted by the Tennessee River. This area of Colbert County earned the name "Muscle Shoals" because of the strength of the river and its several different species of mussels. Located in the county seat of Tuscumbia, Colbert County is comprised of more than 600 square miles of picturesque natural beauty in the Northwest corner of Alabama. The area boasts an unrivaled musical heritage that has featured the styles of W.C. Handy, Percy Sledge and the world-famous Muscle Shoals Sound.

    Popular attractions in the Alabama Music Hall of Fame and Ivy Green, the birthplace of Helen Keller. World-class golf at Ford City's Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail also is one of the many reasons residents and visitors alike view Colbert County as a rich and invigorating place to live, work, learn and play. 


    Our History

    The Colbert County Board of Education was established on August 13, 1914. The first Superintendent of Education was J.T. McGee. The following is a list of the Superintendents who have served Colbert County Schools.



    J.T. McKee 1914-1923
    Robert Hudson 1923-1935
    Rufus Porter 1935-1942
    Robert Hudson 1942-1947
    J.T. Bozeman 1947-1953
    W.W. Hester 1953-1955
    Stanley Weeks September-November 1955
    A.Y. Sibley 1955-1961
    David C. Brown 1961-1973
    Robert McKinney 1973-1981
    John Landers 1981-1985
    Roger Moore 1985-2000
    Freda Daily 2000-2003
    Billy Hudson 2003-2012
    Anthony Olivis 2012-2016
    Gale Satchel 2016-2020
    Chris Hand 2020-Present

    History of Our Schools

    Colbert County Schools, 1918-2018: Colbert County Colored Schools 1934:
    Allsboro Riverton
    Barton Margerum
    Bear Creek Liberty
    Bethel Bishop
    Brick Cherokee
    Cherokee Grammar Lane Springs
    Cherokee High School Pride
    Cherokee Middle Leighton Training
    Colbert Heights Elementary Mt. Pleasant
    Colbert Heights High New Home
    County High (Leighton) St. James
    Crooked Oak Ricks
    Fowler Spring Valley
    Hatton St. Paul
    Hillaby Mt. Olivia
    Hopewell Hawkins Creek
    Howell Graves Bethel
    Lagrange Cave Springs
    Lagrange Junior High Barton
    Leighton Grammar  
    Leighton Middle School  
    Ligon Springs  
    Lile Academy  
    Lime Rock  
    Mt. Hester  
    New Bethel  
    New Smyrna  
    Newsome Springs  
    Poplar Creek  
    Red Rock  
    Rock Creek  
    Spring Valley  
    White Oak